(See Lists)FG names Rail stations after Nigerians.


On Monday 27 July Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja/Warri corridors after some noble Nigerians.

The Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi in a statement through his spokesman, Eric Ojiekwe, said that these deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and Nigeria at large.

ALSO READ:-Alternative Routes for the Lagosians going to the Island

These Nigerians include Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Senate leader late Olusola Saraki, former Lagos State Governor Ahmed Tinubu, and Nigerian Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka among the rest.

  • Apapa station named after Tinubu
  • Kajola station was named after Prof Osinbajo
  • Abeokuta station was named after Prof. Soyinka.
  • Ajaokuta station was named after the late Saraki.
  • Ebute Metta Station named after Mobolaji Johnson.
  • Agege station named after Babatunde Raji Fashola
  • Agbado station named after Lateef Jakande
  • Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti named after Papalanto station
  • Aremo Segun Osoba(Olodo station)
  • Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station)
Nigerians at rail station
  • Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station)
  • Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).
  • Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station)
  • Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station)
  • Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station)
  • Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station)
  • Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station)
  • Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station).
  • Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex)
  • Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station)
  • Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station)
  • Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor)

Facebook Comments Box


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here